Affiliated to

ASA Swim 21
7Oaks SC Logo
Sharks Water Polo

ASA Learn To Swim Framework

As the experts in all things swimming, the ASA developed the British Gas ASA Learn to Swim Programme as a syllabus for swimming lessons.
Lessons delivered using the ASA Learn to Swim Framework use fun and games to take children from the first splash to full competence in the pool and will ultimately help your child develop confidence in the water.

The British Gas ASA Learn to Swim Programme guides children through ten clearly defined stages, and there's a foundation level to get babies as young as six-months-old started. All of the British Gas ASA Learn to Swim Programme is supported by the Kellogg's ASA Awards scheme. These are the badges and certificates you probably remember getting as a youngster.

The swimmer’s ‘journey through aquatics’ starts with Foundation, a programme for developing early-years water confidence, encouraged through sessions such as ‘adult and child’ and pre-school sessions.

Stages 1-7 focus on FUNdamental movement skills, ensuring that all the underpinning skills are learnt – not just a selection. Completion of Stage 7 reflects the entry criteria for Sevenoaks Swimming Club.

Stages 8-10 focus on FUNdamental Sports Skills, those which will be used in the competitive environment.

The disciplines available to swimmers are competitive swimming, diving, synchronised swimming, water polo and rookie lifesaving.

Stages 8, 9 and 10 of the British Gas ASA Learn to Swim Programme are discipline specific and have synergy with the grass roots programmes developed by the disciplines to support the individual sports. These are the diving specific Flip ‘n’ Fun, the synchronised swimming focused AquaFun and mini-polo for swimmers interested in water polo.

For the competitive swimming discipline in Stages 8, 9 and 10 the ASA has developed awards specifically to support the British Gas ASA Learn to Swim Programme. For more information visit the awards page here.

The ASA and the Royal Life Saving Society (RLSS) have worked closely to develop Stages 8, 9 and 10 and to produce awards that link into the British Gas ASA Learn to Swim Programme. The syllabus relating to the Rookie Lifesaving stages can be accessed through the RLSS by using the web link above.

The British Gas ASA Learn To Swim Programme outcomes for stages 1-10 can be viewed here


More in this category: Long Term Athlete Development »

Members Login